Last Updated on

We write our honest review on each company or product, however, we receive a sales commission or other compensation on the products we review. That helps us to support this website. Prices can vary due to changes in promotions or policies. See our full disclosures here.

Today we are looking at the best meal kit services that cater to one person.

To be honest, all meal kit services across the board, offer boxes for a minimum of 2 people, but this does not mean they are not suitable for singletons. It is a good idea to order a 2-person meal kit plan. You can easily save the leftovers from your evening meal for lunch or dinner the next day. You could even occasionally invite a friend or a date home for an impressive home-cooked meal!

We also found some prepared meal delivery services that offer great solutions for single people. You can access our coupons here.

In order to make sure that this article was accurate and relevant, we asked a group of singles from our meal kit review team to rank their preferred meal kit services for singletons. 

Following are the best neal kits for singles:

#1

MEAL KITS

Score 9.8

  • Full Pricing: $7.49- $8.99
  • MEAL KIT
  • Shipping: $6.99 First shipping is FREE
  • Updated December 2019

#2

MEAL KITS

Score 9.7

  • Full Pricing: $9.95 per dinner serving, $7.99 per lunch serving
  • Shipping: FREE for orders over $49
  • MEAL KIT
  • Updated December 2019

#3

MEAL KITS

Score 9.6

  • Full Pricing: $11.99 per serving
  • Shipping: $6.99 per week, First Shipping FREE
  • MEAL KIT
  • Updated December 2019

HelloFresh is the largest global and USA player in the meal kit industry, offering a large variety of healthy eating meals every week, with the freshest ingredients and the most delicious recipes, that suit the needs of singles and families.  

See all Hello Fresh Promo codes

  • Full Pricing: $7.49- $8.99
  • MEAL KIT
  • Shipping: $6.99 First shipping is FREE
  • Updated December 2019

#1 Hello Fresh- One Person Meal Kit

Hello Fresh is all about making your weeknight dinners easy and delicious. The company is the #1 meal kit brand in the US, and they live up to their name by including the freshest quality ingredients in their meal kits.

They deliver farm-fresh produce and high-quality meats, poultry, and seafood, that you would love to eat. Like all meal kit services, Hello Fresh does not offer a 1-person plan, but there is the option of a  2-person plan. You can easily prepare the recipe for two and save the extra meal for your lunch or dinner the following day.

All the Hello Fresh recipes are classic and relatively simple to make. A perfection option if you have a busy life and little spare time to be wasting in the kitchen.

Most importantly,  every meal we tried from their menu was delicious! Their menu is made up of a large variety of 17 meal choices on a weekly basis. Within their menu, you will find great options for vegetarians, child, and family-friendly meals, gourmet-style meals, calorie-smart dishes that are low in calories and more.

Some of the meals we loved the most from the Hello Fresh menu were:

  • Figgy balsamic pork with roasted green beans and rosemary potatoes
  • Salsa verde enchiladas with poblano pepper, black beans, and Monterey Jack cheese
  • Juicy Lucy burgers with tomato onion jam and potato wedges

Regardless of where you live, the Hello Fresh distribution allows for delivery to all 48 continents of the USA. 

Apricot Chicken by Hello Fresh
Apricot Chicken by Hello Fresh

Home Chef‘s mantra is to bring people together around the dinner table, by delivering meals that are familiar but with an interesting twist. Most meals can be made in about 30 minutes.

See here all Home Chef promo codes

  • Full Pricing: $9.95 per dinner serving, $7.99 per lunch serving
  • Shipping: FREE for orders over $49
  • MEAL KIT
  • Updated December 2019

#2 Home Chef for Singles

Home Chef is also one of our favorite meal kit services. The company is all about classic home cooking that usually involves a tasty twist and uses amazing farm-fresh ingredients. Home Chef is suitable for couples and singles who love delicious, home-cooked meals that take no longer than 30-40 minutes to cook!

The Home Chef weekly menu offers a large amount of 18 weekly dishes. This includes 15 dinner options and 3 ‘no-cooking required’ lunches. Among those options, you will be able to find meals to cater to many needs, like vegetarian, low calories and low carb meals.

The company has also gone the extra mile in adding some new features to their menu such as ‘Home Chef express meals’ – recipes designed to be ready in only 15 minutes, and ‘Home Chef oven-ready’ meals which are highly convenient meals that require minimum preparation. Simply put them in the oven, and they are ready in a few minutes.  Their unique “Customize It” feature, is an option available on many of their menu items. This means that you have the option to swap, double and even upgrade the protein in relevant meals.

Home Chef delivers to 98% of the United States. If you wish to see if you are in their delivery area, you can enter your zip code during the sign-up process, and their system will let you know if you are in the delivery zone.

Here are some of our favorite dishes from the Home Chef menu:

  • Salmon bruschetta
  • Orange-garlic shrimp
  • Pork tenderloin with a brown sugar demi
Cheddar & Crispy Potato Crusted Chicken by Home Chef
Cheddar & Crispy Potato Crusted Chicken by Home Chef

Quick Review: Sun Basket

Sun Basket provides a variety of Gluten-Free, Vegetarian, Paleo-friendlyvegan, Mediterranean, pescatarian or Chef’s Choice.

See here all Sun Basket promo codes

  • Full Pricing: $11.99 per serving
  • Shipping: $6.99 per week, First Shipping FREE
  • MEAL KIT
  • Updated December 2019

#3 Sun Basket Meal Kits for Singles

Sun Basket makes healthy cooking so easy! They use only organic and sustainably sourced ingredients & have an outstanding selection of 18 weekly delicious dinner recipes, plus many extra options for lunch, proteins, and snacks! The Sun Basket weekly selection includes creative, fresh and healthy recipes, with seasonal and all organic produce. 

Sun Basket offers menu choices to support many dietary needs, including pescatarian, vegetarian, Mediterranean, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Soy-Free, Lean & Clean (low-calorie count), vegan, Paleo and more!

Sun Basket is also one of the first and only meal services to offer several breakfast and lunch options which are mainly salads along with their special sauces, snacks and opportunity to purchase additional meats, seafood, fresh pasta and much more.

Here are some great options to choose from the Sun Basket menu:

  • Lamb korma with sweet potato mash and toasted naan
  • Turkey taco bowls with brown rice, black beans, and pico de gallo
  • Salmon with Dijon sauce, blistered green beans, and quinoa
  • 5 – minutes lunch – organic rainbow Asian salad
  • Snack – Old dog ranch whiskey spiced walnuts

No matter where you live, Sun Basket is able to deliver with distribution to all 48 continental states of the USA. 

Steak and roasted sweet potato by Sun Basket
Steak and roasted sweet potato by Sun Basket

Quick EveryPlate Review:

EveryPlate is a low-cost meal kit service, offering tasty, comforting meal kits to cook at home at the most affordable prices.

See all EveryPlate Promotions

  • Full Pricing: $4.99 per serving
  • Shipping: $8.99 per box
  • MEAL KIT
  • Updated December 2019

#4 EveryPlate meal kit option for singles

EveryPlate is probably your best meal kit option if you are a single person on a tight budget, you would still want to enjoy delicious and easy to cook meals. Every plate is your affordable meal kit option – with meals that cost only 5$ per serving!

The company does not offer a one-person meal kit plan, but they do have a 2-person plan with plenty of meal options that would still taste great for lunch or dinner the next day! Their menu selection of eight meals per week contains many familiar classics that are also not very hard or take a long time to prepare – so it can fit perfectly with your hectic singleton lifestyle.

Here are the most popular Every Plate meals:

  • Roasted Dijon butter steak with Brussels and mashed sweet potatoes 
  • Cajun chicken sausage penne with montrey jack
  • Beef banh mi bowl
  • Stuffed squash with couscous, Brussels sprouts, and cranberries

Gobble is all about quick and easy meal preparation. The notable thing about Gobble is the convenience and ease of meal preparation. They make a standout promise that all their meals take only 15 minutes to cook!

See here all Gobble promotions

  • Full Pricing: $11.99 per serving
  • Shipping: $6.99 per week, First Shipping FREE
  • MEAL KIT
  • Updated December 2019

#5 Gobble- Meal Delivery Services for One Person

As a singleton, you will love the Gobble promise – delicious, restaurant-quality meals ready to eat in just 15 minutes! Gobble is a great meal kit service to use if you want an easy life. They provide a wonderful variety of tasty meals to cook at home every week. Gobble delivers all ingredients pre-portioned, pre-chopped, pre-peeled and pre-marinated, which means dinner is ready in the shortest amount of time possible and that Gobble keeps their 15-minute promise. Gobble is amazing for singles who are time poor; if you have no spare time – Gobble is the meal kit service for you!

Like many meal kit services, Gobble offers a range of recipes to fit the needs of many diets and lifestyles, like vegetarian, quick & easy, Kid and family-friendly and low-calorie meals. They also have a great subscription option for Lunch

Some of the meals you can find in the Gobble menu are:

  • Vietnamese crispy fish with rice noodles
  • Vegetable karma korma with turmeric rice
  • Potato pierogi with butternut squash puree & sautéed kale
Gobble Products

Here are a few factors that we recommend  considering when choosing the meal kit service best suited your single life needs:

  • Style of dishes – each person has their own favorite flavor and style preferences. Some are looking for more classic or easy-to-cook meals, while others are looking for a more sophisticated dining experience or a new challenge in the kitchen. We encourage you to look at the menus in advance and choose the meal kit service that offers meals that are suited to your tastes and preferences.
  • Variety of meals per week – not all meal kit services offer the same number and variety of meals every week. Some offer 6-8 meals per week, and others offer up to 18 different meal choices on a weekly basis
  • Price – not all meal kit delivery services are priced the same. The price can vary quite substantially, and you should look at the price and choose the service that best suits your personal budget.
  • Special dietary needs – many meal kits services offer menus that support special dietary needs like vegetarian, vegan, paleo, keto and many more. If you follow a special diet, there are companies that have got you covered!
  • Flexibility – in our hectic world, our day-to-day lives can be, at times, unpredictable. When looking for a meal kit delivery service, you should try to make sure that the service you choose offers a degree of flexibility.  Find one that will allow you to skip weeks when needed and cancel your membership at any time with no added fees or penalties

What do singletons need from a meal delivery service?

Modern life for a person on their own can be hectic and demanding. Something that is always needed is more time. Often the first thing that gets overlooked when juggling a million different things, is finding the time to prepare and cook delicious and healthy meals at home. If you have a busy career where you work long hours, finding the extra time to recipe plan, grocery shop and meal prep can be all but impossible. Busy single people often have demanding social lives, are physically active and need to satisfy the expectations of their families.

No wonder so many people resort to take-out on the way home or fast convenience food which is never ideal, often unhealthy and invariably expensive. It can be hard to convince yourself that it is worth the time and effort to prepare meals when you are cooking for one. What singletons need from their meal delivery service is the convenience of having tasty meals that are easy to order and prepare. 

What are the main benefits of using a meal delivery service when you are single?

Meal delivery services offer the ultimate service of convenience for busy singletons. It can be hard finding the time or energy to cook for one person. Using a meal delivery service means that someone else is doing the recipe writing, meal planning, grocery shopping and portion control for you!  As a single person, by using a meal delivery service, you will know you have well-balanced, healthy and delicious meals organized for the week. A meal delivery service also looks after portion control, so you will only be eating as much as you need while minimizing waste.

A meal delivery service is an answer to all your singleton problems of eating well. With a meal delivery service, you will be eating well with a minimum of fuss, bother and waste. The final appeal of a meal delivery service is that for a single person, they can often save you money when compared to buying all the ingredients from scratch. 

Why use our meal kit reviews?

At the Meal Kit Review, we use a team of experienced professionals to dig deep into each company that we review. Part of our extensive review process involves testing and tasting every single company that we report on. This means that we can give accurate feedback on everything ranging from the registration process to meal selection, cooking, and the taste!

By doing this for every company, you know that you can rely on our detailed reviews and comparisons. In addition, we also provide lists such as this one – our top recommended companies for different situations, dietary and lifestyle requirements, to name a few. Our team is made up of seasoned professionals, all of whom have been using meal kit and prepared meal delivery services for years. We are proud of the very involved processes that allow us to give you the most up-to-the-minute and detailed feedback on the various companies that are involved with the meal kit and prepared meal delivery industry. 

As you can see, there are a large variety of services that offer meal kit plans for two people that are ideally suited for the needs of a single person. Some of the services offer classic home cooking, while others are more innovative and challenging to cook. There are also some great prepared meal delivery options that offer pre-cooked meals that are ready to heat and eat, which suits the needs of a busy singleton.

In our opinion, it is always best to experiment with at least two different companies so that you can compare the services you have experienced and then decide as to which is the best option for you. All services are very flexible and offer the option to pause or use the subscription every other week, so it is super easy to try out more than one option. 

Regardless of which company you end up choosing, using a meal kit service will save you time on meal preparation and grocery shopping, so what are you waiting for?

Close Menu

Meal Kits December

Sale